Breaking the Halo

Entry 13 ()

Hello, folks! The update’s been delayed due to real life and my brain being weird again, but I set out for adventure a couple weeks ago as promised and made it safely back home with what I’d come for. Let’s have a look!


When I checked on our explorer map last time, I was concerned that it was apparently sending me to an underwater mansion rather than the typical woodland variety. I’m happy to report that the map was, in fact, only half wrong: It had the mansion in the right place, just not any of the terrain around it. Getting there was kind of anticlimactic, actually; it’s only about 1 km from Intersylva, pretty much directly southwest with mostly ocean on the way.

Woodland mansion from a distance. The explorer map is now partially filled in, showing that the actual terrain and previewed terrain are completely different.
These things really are huge. (−3,315 W / +2,592 S), looking southwest.

I’ll be honest here: For as much as exploration and adventure is my favorite part of this game, I’ve never actually raided a woodland mansion before. I was a bit intimidated, and ended up running back out the front door several times thinking I was being chased. Thankfully the roof of the forest gave an opportunity to scout ahead. (I could have gone the easy route and taken some of these guys out from the outside, but where’s the fun in that? We’re going in and doing this the way it was intended.)

Looking into the mansion via a second‐story window. There are two vindicators inside.
Good job they haven’t noticed me yet. (−3,510 W / +2,876 S), looking north.

I was able to clear the first floor without much incident, and proceeded upstairs where I knew the more dangerous illagers lurked: The evokers. Indeed, one of them was waiting just around the corner from the landing – and those vexes they summon are flighty little buggers. No problem with my trusty Trueshot, though. One arrow, one kill – snap! Headshot!

Interior of the mansion, second floor, at the top of the stairs. At least 14 stray flaming arrows are embedded in the walls and floor. A totem of undying surrounded by experience orbs rests down the hallway.
Definitely did not aim a little wild trying to take care of them at a distance. But look! Our first totem of undying! (−3,460 W / +2,848 S), looking south.

One evoker down, one totem in the bag. Yes! This ain’t bad at all.

I made my way around the second floor, then up to the smaller third, taking out illager after illager. At the end of it all, I’d collected four more totems, and began revisiting the rooms I’d cleared earlier. There weren’t many chests, but I did find something special up in a loft…

A chest containing five bones, five iron ingots, six rotten flesh, a lead, a piece of string, and two golden apples (one enchanted).
Day 1,372: Our first Enchanted Golden Apple! Not a lot else, but it’s sure nothing to sneeze at. (−3,516 W / +2,842 S), looking north.

With a bit more hunting, I even found a few secret rooms – unfortunately losing one of the attic chests to a creeper explosion. (I misjudged how close I was to the peephole I’d mined into the wall. I thought I got a screenshot of the damage, but apparently not. Oops.) But hey! Five totems of undying and an enchanted golden apple!

A large chest containing various items including loot from the mansion.
Also a diamond hoe, bit of iron and lapis, a few emeralds, and a regular type gapple. Not the worst haul. (−3,472 W / +2,849 S), looking northeast.

The mansion secured, I left a chest under the stairs so I could return for the loot later. This was no time to haul it home: I had a mission. This was the day. No more delays. To the Halo!


The trek was fairly unremarkable; more of the usual for the most part, though there was another plains village at (−5,482 W / +4,213 S) that I diverted to check out. Not much going on there, though, so I continued farther southwest. Until finally I saw it…

Looking over some forest, ocean, and desert. Beyond the desert the terrain abruptly becomes forested.
May not look like much, but it’s the entire reason this world exists. (−6,042 W / +5,069 S), looking southwest.

Game day 1,379, three years and ten months into the life of the world, 2011 Minecraft was finally in sight.

Would appear to be a split image if it weren’t for the clouds being uninterrupted. The left half is desert and ocean while the right half is forest, and a tree in the center is cut cleanly in half.
Straight down the border. 2020 Minecraft on the left, the Halo on the right. (−6,145 W / +5,062 S), looking south.

I took my time exploring. Until recently, most of my playtime had been way back in the Beta days, so this was a real trip down memory lane.

A patchy oak forest with bright green grass and ferns.
Back in those simpler times, we didn’t have jungles yet – just rainforests. (−6,218 W / +5,097 S), looking west.
A vast, empty lake with a few densely‐forested islands.
This. This is the kind of landscape that I will always imagine when I think of Minecraft. (−6,270 W / +5,220 S), looking northwest.
A beach of gravel amid some desert. The boundary is visible in the background where the desert abuts a savanna‐topped stone cliff face with exposed caves.
Gravel beaches my beloved 🥺 (−6,270 W / +5,401 S), looking southeast.

I only had two maps left on me when the Halo came into view, so I decided to fill one up with as much Beta as I could and leave the other for all the shiny new 2022 Minecraft on the other side. That meant heading south along the border, then north a little farther out, slowly making my way to the west. On the way, I spotted something just back inside: Our first desert village!

A desert village that appears to be built on a plateau of sand a few meters above sea level.
It’s practically right on the edge of the Halo. Cool. (−6,181 W / +5,870 S), looking southeast.

You’ve probably heard of the “four corners of the world.” This world has 16 of ’em: Eight per dimension.

A hill that abruptly ends on two sides, exposing large faces of stone where it meets the ocean. A small island abuts the near face with some half‐trees against it.
So to be specific, this here’s one of the four corners of the 2020 Minecraft Overworld. (−6,199 W / +6,159 S), looking east.

Working west, I enjoyed some of the weird little things that have been more or less absent from the game for so long.

Clay on a beach next to a rainforest.
Random blobs of clay above the water… (−6,534 W / +5,232 S), looking southeast.
A small basin of sand in the middle of the rainforest.
Random blobs of sand away from any water (or desert)… (−6,636 W / +5,243 S), looking southwest.
An empty ocean with some small and large islands.
Large, dirt‐bottomed, lifeless lakes/oceans… (remember, this was well before the Update Aquatic – and oceans and rivers and beaches didn’t even have their own biomes yet!) (−6,636 W / +5,772 S), looking northeast.
A forest with at least four large oak trees in close proximity.
Is it just me, or were big trees more common back then, too? (−6,811 W / +5,569 S), looking west.
A forest above and below some varied cliffs.
The “Cliffs” part of “Caves & Cliffs” is more of a returning feature than a new one. (−6,981 W / +5,974 S), looking northeast.

Six days after first sighting the Halo, I made it across to the final border, catching my first sight of the brave new world of 2022 Minecraft that lay beyond.

Beach and ocean meeting forest and ocean. Sea level in the Halo is a meter lower than in the newer terrain beyond.
Note to self: Trying to cross by boat may be a bit troublesome. (−7,147 W / +5,113 S), looking southwest.
A forest of tall birch trees at the edge of an ocean.
And our first biome outside the Halo is one of the new ones, an old growth birch forest! I do love a birch tree… (−7,179 W / +5,094 S), looking southwest.

I wasn’t quite finished filling that map, though, so I followed the border south before turning west once more to really get exploring. The sun was setting as I crossed the ocean to properly make landfall. Straight ahead was a fairly large ruined portal, which I briefly considered restoring – but I decided to hold off on adding any more portals for now. I’d only explored a very narrow strip to get out here, after all, and there might be better sites around.

Swamp and a hilltop ruined portal in front of the setting sun.
First a birch forest, now a swamp… really showcasing the wild, huh? (−7,445 W / +5,999 S), looking west.

Being in brand new terrain, this swamp had some frogs wandering around!

A pair of temperate frogs.
I mean, they’re not exclusive to new terrain, but the old swamps tend to already be capped on passive mobs, so you’re probably not gonna see many unless you get culling. (−7,493 W / +5,998 S), looking north.
Comic titled “amphibian exhibit.” A person is looking at a frog sitting on a lily pad. The frog inflates its vocal sac, and the person responds by puffing out their cheeks.
Accurate depiction of the blogger meeting the frogger. Lovingly stolen from my silly comics by claire.

Nearby was a rather large pumpkin patch, which I set about jack‐o’‐lantern‐ifying, as is my custom.

A patch of jack‐o’‐lanterns in the swamp with a ruined nether portal in the background.
18 of them! (−8,005 W / +6,003 S), looking south.

North of the swamp was another village, just on the edge of another biome I could check off my list, a windswept savanna. (The village itself was just another garden variety plains village.)

Rainy view from the village looking up at numerous small, tall, and very high floating islands above the mountains.
Amplified. (−7,482 W / +5,686 S), looking northwest.
Another view of the floating islands, this time from straight on and at a high enough altitude that there is snow in the foreground descending the mountain. The floating islands are clearly still much higher.
In case that thing doesn’t look tall enough already, keep in mind I was already standing at Y=+132 to take this. Amplified indeed! (−7,641 W / +5,637 S), looking north.

Picking my way through the mountains to fill in the map, I spotted some emerald ore for the first time in this world!

A single block of emerald ore in the shadows.
I’m with Pixlriffs on this one – this stuff is too precious to just Fortune and trade away… (−8,218 W / +5,702 S), looking southwest.
Another single block of emerald ore, this time in the ground on the surface.
…even if it’s a bit more common since Caves & Cliffs and can regularly be found out in the open now. (−7,882 W / +5,483 S), looking south.

It also became apparent that either there was something in the water in this part of the world or pumpkin patches are just bigger and more plentiful now than they used to be. Just filling in this one map I came across a second large patch, with 14 pumpkins…

A patch of jack‐o’‐lanterns in a forest.
…then this one with 19… (−8,140 W / +5,477 S), looking northeast.
A different patch of jack‐o’‐lanterns in a forest.
…then this one with… 23‽ (−8,167 W / +5,367 S), looking northeast.

There was one last neat thing before starting on the long journey home – a lush cave!

A lone azalea tree on the border of a birch and dark oak forest.
Well, a sure sign of one, at least. At this point I didn’t really feel up to digging down for it. Another time… (−8,222 W / +5,169 S), looking west.

The expedition was almost everything I was hoping for – though, especially after spotting mountains, I was kind of holding out for a big ol’ cave opening, maybe even down to the deep dark. But there’s plenty of world to explore, and we’ll get there.


I made the long trek back to Intersylva, glad to hop aboard the D&V (Oh yeah, I finally gave the Nether hub a name other than “the Nether hub”: It’s now the Deltas & Valley Railway) for a quick ride the rest of the way home. There, I set to work in the map room making space for another nine frames in the corner.

The updated map in the floor with a narrow path leading from the explored core southwest to the Halo and beyond.
Looks a bit odd with just this long strip jutting off, but it was well worth the trip. (−259 W / −185 N), looking northwest.
Wider view of the room showing that the newly expanded map has reached the wall.
Also may need to expand the map room a bit. It’s kinda… already run into the corner. I could’ve sworn I left more room than this. Hrm. (−253 W / −193 N), looking southwest.

But expanding the map room can wait. It’s time to finally take the big step and go all in.


Next time: We free the End.